Menu Close

Parents & Carers

Careers Education and Guidance

Now is a great time for you to be talking to your son about their choices. The careers advice for parent’s website is a great starting point to help your child explore their potential.

Information about careers

Understand the range of job and employment sector profiles

Science, technology, engineering and maths careers

Online careers magazines

Explore career videos, take the Buzz Quiz and focus on subjects

National online careers film and video library. Real people real jobs to help young people, students, teachers, career professionals, influencers

Information about local employment trends

Compare information about different career areas and employment trends

Information about career sectors and advice about work and university options

Advise for parents/carers of young people facing options post 18. Emphasis is on higher education, but does give advice on other options.

Study Options

Thinking about choosing your A Levels

Alternatives to Higher Education

Thinking about University

Taking a Gap Year

Apprenticeship Information

Apprenticeships, applying to university, studying at college and the world of work

Information on apprenticeships

Apprenticeships Resources

Researching University Courses

The UK’s official graduate careers website, useful to look forward at what is happening in the graduate careers world, includes careers advice, information on jobs and work experience, postgraduate study, job sectors and student life

Official data for undergraduate courses on each university and college’s satisfaction scores in the National Student Survey, jobs and salaries after study and other key information for prospective students

Offers information and advice on applying to higher education

Database of university events for schools and colleges

Calendar of dates

Guidance on applying for finance to support university life

Volunteering

Information on volunteering

Enterprise

Enterprise resources

Information on enterprise

List of Local Post-16 Providers

  Website Phone number
Lady Lumley’s School and Sixth Form http://www.ladylumleys.n-yorks.sch.uk/  01751 472846
Malton School and Sixth Form http://www.maltonschool.org/  01653 692828
Norton College https://www.nortoncollege.net/  01653 693296
Ampleforth College https://www.ampleforth.org.uk/  01439 766000
Scarborough Sixth Form https://s6f.org.uk/  01723 365023
Middlesbrough College https://www.mbro.ac.uk/  01642 333333
York College https://www.yorkcollege.ac.uk/  01904 770200
Askham Bryan https://www.askham-bryan.ac.uk/  01904 772277
Bishop Burton College https://www.bishopburton.ac.uk/  01964 553000
Scarborough College https://www.scarboroughcollege.co.uk/  01723 360620
St Peters School https://www.stpetersyork.org.uk/  01904 527300
Scarborough TEC https://scarboroughtec.ac.uk/  01723 372105
Queen Ethelburga’s http://www.qe.org/  01423 333300
Queen Margaret’s, York http://queenmargarets.com/  01904 727600
The Mount, York https://www.mountschoolyork.co.uk/sixth-form/  01904 667500
Harrogate Grammar School https://www.harrogategrammar.co.uk/  01423 531127
Ripon Grammar School https://www.ripongrammar.co.uk/  01765 602647
St Aidan’s and John Fisher http://www.staidans.co.uk/sixth-form/  01423 818516
Bootham School https://www.boothamschool.com/  01904 623261
All Saints, York http://www.allsaints.york.sch.uk/sixth-form/  01904 647877
Fulford Sixth Form http://sixthform.fulford.york.sch.uk/  01904 633300
Huntington School https://huntingtonschool.co.uk/sixth-form/sixth-form-overview/  01904 752100
Joseph Rowntree School https://www.josephrowntree.co.uk/  01904 552100
Archbishop Holgate’s https://www.archbishopholgates.org/sixth-form/  01904 411341
Easingwold School and Sixth Form https://www.easingwold.n-yorks.sch.uk/  01347 821451
Army Foundation College, Harrogate https://www.army.mod.uk/who-we-are/our-schools-and-colleges/afc-harrogate/  0345 6008080
Derwent Training Association http://www.derwenttraining.co.uk/  01653 697698
Government Apprenticeship Adverts https://www.gov.uk/topic/further-education-skills/apprenticeships  NA

Please contact Mr Cooke on careers@bromptonhall.n-yorks.sch.uk if you would like your organisation to be listed here.

Apprenticeship Guidance for Parents/Carers

Is your son/daughter considering an apprenticeship route when they leave us at the age of 16? If so, the information on this page may be useful for you to gather information about apprenticeships and help you to support them with the choice and application process.

The following links provide a wealth of information around apprenticeships: 

Both the government and Success at School give guidance on the different types of apprenticeship that are available, and how to apply for them: 

The government, Career Map, and Get My First Job offer a search function to enable you to find apprenticeships that match your interest. Derwent Training also helps young people find apprenticeships.